Mischief Managed: A “Potter” Retrospective

OMG HARRY POTTER OMG.

Harry Potter is the big “thing” for my generation. In fact, I’m not sure that another phenomenon in history has quite reached the levels of success that Potter has. Star Wars is probably the only other one that even compares, and Potter doesn’t have terrible prequels yet.

Anyway, as I’m sure you all know, the final film in the Potter series will be released on July 15th of this year. This happens to be my birthday, by some incredible stroke of luck, and Potter is how I’ll be celebrating. Harry and co. have been around for most of my life, and it will be a heart-wrenching experience to say goodbye to them. When the final book came out four years ago, it didn’t really register to me that this was the end, the absolute final one. That there would be no more. Because, of course, it seemed as though there would be more. There were another three movies to go (four, as it would later turn out). Potter was far from finished.

But now we’re at the end, the real end, in a lot of ways. (And by the way, I’d like to take this moment to thank Warner Bros. for dragging out the end as long as possible by splitting the final book into two films. Fans across the globe appreciate it.) And it’s so, so sad. I’ll probably cry. And I won’t be ashamed. After all, all of the Mischief will have been Managed.

Originally, I was going to cover the entire series in this one post, but I quickly realized that I had far too much to say about all seven (!) films. Instead, I’m going to review each one in a separate post leading up to the release of Deathly Hallows Part II. ‘Twill be fun. And again…

OMG HARRY POTTER OMG.

Published by

Josh Rosenfield

Josh Rosenfield is a Film Media major at the University of Rhode Island. He has been writing Popcorn Culture since 2010.

Leave a Reply!

