Top Fives of 2011: Part Two

Films I Regret Missing

Oh, I’ll see these movies eventually. Maybe very soon, in fact. But I regret not seeing them in 2011, when they were released. When they were current, the talk of the town. I’m pretty sure most of these are on Netflix, so I’ll be catching up as soon as possible.

5.) Meek’s Cutoff

Initially, this did not look like it would be a movie that appealed to me. I’m not one for dusty Westerns about hardship and toil. But apparently, that’s not what this movie is at all. I’d like to give it a shot. Never judge a book by its cover, kids.

4.) Moneyball

I was really excited for this one, too! Brad Pitt and Aaron Sorkin! Love those guys! But I never got around to it. Apparently, like Meek’s Cutoff, it’s not a “baseball movie”, which makes it sound all the more appealing to me.

3.) Take Shelter

This movie looked really, really cool. But it wasn’t playing anywhere near me, and no one was really talking about it, so I sort of forgot. This is such a small film that I may never see it, and that’s the worst part.

2.) The Artist/Tinker Tailor Soldier Spy/Shame/Melancholia

You know what? No. These aren’t going on the list. Tinker Tailor wasn’t even in wide release in 2011. The Artist literally started playing in my local theater today. I live in the middle of Connecticut, for crying out loud. I literally have no possible way of seeing these movies. I’m not even giving them an honorable mention. No apologies. Moving on.

REALLY 2.) 50/50

I keep hearing about how funny this movie is, and I really don’t have an excuse for not seeing it when I had the chance. Again, this film was very briefly on the tip of everyone’s tongue, and I missed out on that. Unlike this film…

1.) Drive

Yeah. This should be pretty self-explanatory. Fortunately, this one is still on everyone’s mind, months later, so I’ve still got time!

Honorable Mentions: Weekend, Red State, Certified Copy, Tucker and Dale vs. Evil, Midnight in Paris

Films I Don’t Regret Missing

I truly cannot get it down to five single movies. In fact, this section was originally a long, long list of every film that I don’t regret having skipped. In the interest of brevity, I put them all into five categories.

5.) Awful Kids Movies

Not being a kid, perhaps it’s unfair to put this here. But it seemed to me that this genre was especially awful in 2011. Everything from The Smurfs (which everyone seemed to agree would be bad months beforehand) to Zookeeper (a Paul Blart aftershock) to Alvin and the Chipmunks: Chipwrecked (whose trailer left me paralyzed with shock for nearly a half-hour) was just atrocious. Even Pixar’s outing this year was a stinker.

4.) Action Movies

When you can count all the good action movies released in a year on one hand, you’ve got a problem. This genre has gotten pretty terrible of late, unfortunately, and I don’t think it’s pulling out of that tailspin anytime soon.

3.) Movies that were The Twilight Saga: Breaking Dawn – Part 1

Sorry, I have to take at least a little bit of time out of every day to crap on Twilight. Moving on.

2.) Comedies (Romantic and “Adult”)

I use the word “adult” because I’m not sure what word to use to describe movies in the style of Bad Teacher or Bucky Larson: Born to Be a Star. I’m sure I’ll think of the right one the second that I publish this. Oh well. Anyway, Horrible Bosses was pretty much the only good comedy that came out this year. I haven’t seen Bridesmaids yet, but given what I’ve heard about it, I’ll assume that it doesn’t fall into this category. Either way, this was an awful, awful year for comedies.

1.) Genre Pictures

Stuff like Priest, Cowboys & Aliens, Conan the Barbarian, Fright Night, and their close relatives not only bombed critically, but they tanked at the box office. These poor, innocent movies never even had a chance. Well, that’s not true, strictly speaking. They all had really cool premises. It was the awful execution that sunk these movies. It’s that sad truth that puts this category at the top of the list. These movies weren’t screwed from Square One. They could have been really good. How sad.

Right, well, that’s about it for my Top Fives. Honestly, I can’t think of any more list ideas. Soon to come is my “Best and Worst of 2011” list. I just need to see a few more movies first. Stay tuned!

Published by

Josh Rosenfield

Josh Rosenfield is a Film Media major at the University of Rhode Island. He has been writing Popcorn Culture since 2010.

Leave a Reply!

